Late on parade.

Me that is, not the Wheatears – the first ones came through the coast at about the average time earlier this month, but I only bumped into my initial five of the year as I went to check the cattle on Ainsdale LNR today.

A fine party of three full adult males, one younger male and a female, darted about amongst the cowpats just beyond the access gate to the cattle enclosure behind the Pontins site.

I sat down hidden behind a low dune for five minutes and let them come to me – superb things, light in a darkening world.

My first Swallow through at Ainsdale yesterday, with a singing Willow Warbler down near the LNR/NNR border, although in the cold breeze today only a Chiffy braved conditions to sing.

2 thoughts on “Late on parade.

  1. Heard my first first chiffchaff last Monday in Costco car in central Liverpool bizarrely and my son saw a red kite being mobbed by 3 buzzards in Ince woods

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.