Sneaky varmints

A Hobby scorching through the blue above Dempsey Towers this morning was almost enough to pull me out of a sunny Sunday summer nosedive. Almost.
At least it was enough to get me down to Formby where I went for a wander down Range Lane to admire the new Ringlet colony Phil Smith discovered a week or so back (see comment on previous entry).
I’ve not heard of any from the firebreak at Ainsdale NNR yet this year (great discovery by Andy Spottiswood in 2016), and I wanted to say “howdy” again to the Sefton coast’s newest butterfly so off I went.
I counted at least nine Ringlets this afternoon – but what a bunch of sneaky varmints, tottering around the coarse grassland and brambles.
They rarely settled in the strong westerly breeze making it very difficult to get good views of them.
Their aimless flight and smaller size made them easy to separate from the bigger, more deliberate Meadow Browns on the wing, but last year’s colony at Ainsdale NNR were much easier to get close to if memory serves.
Crept up on one male and managed a few shots as it rested in the brambles and grasses, otherwise all my view were of the critters flying weakly about the grasses, usually just a few inches off the ground and hardly ever high above the rank vegetation.
Plenty of Small Skipper and Meadow Browns, Blackcap, Chiffy and Whitethroat still singing and Common Buzzards overhead.
Pyramidal Orchids flowering and centaury gearing up to be splendid.

