SW f5-6. Hail. Sun. Squalls. Seawatch.

P1190229

A steady southerly movement of Gannets off Ainsdale, and a single Fulmar during the morning, was enough to make me give a seawatch a punt at lunchtime today in surprisingly fierce conditions.
The Gannet passage had eased, but there was still a weak stream out on the horizon with one or two closer in by the time I got onto the dunes.
But nothing ventured, nothing gained, it was good to seawatch again, if only for a short time.

Ainsdale 1230-1330:

Gannet 80+
Common Scoter 18+
Red Throated Diver 6 (all high north)
Fulmar 1 (south)
Kittiwake 2 (north)
Great Crested Grebe 1
Teal 7 (north)
Auk sp 1 (north)

The divers (2 small groups) gave the impression of birds on passage, on a day when hirundine and Mipit movement was light to say the least over the dunes.

5 thoughts on “SW f5-6. Hail. Sun. Squalls. Seawatch.

  1. A trying seawatch at Ainsdale this lunchtime – 6 Common Scoter north, 1 White Wagtail south down the beach and Stumpy the Caspian Gull looking particularly miserable – and that was it, unless you count Cormorants, and I’m not quite ready for that yet…

    Like

  2. My earliest ever Grasshopper Warbler, reeling in the scrub between the car park and beach at Lifeboat Road, Formby at 06.05am today.

    Like

    • Baz my man! You jammy son of a gun! I have been working my butt off to see Brimstone even trespassing to see one! (Not like me not!) Well done my man, hopefully see you soon.

      Like

  3. I went up to Marshside hoping to see the Whitefronts (both spp)
    found yesterday and the Meds but neither obliged. However, I was entertained by an enormous flock of Pinkfeet on the grazing marshes, presumably displaced from the estuary by the 10.2m tide which flooded right up to the foot of the seawall.
    I estimated at least 6000 on Crossens Reclaimed Marsh and about another 1500 on M2, probably the largest number I have ever seen in April. Later in the afternoon, many of them returned to the estuary in a mass flight.
    I saw one Raven heading inland and after some searching on the
    ebb obtained rather distant views of one of the Water Pipits. There was a pair of Scaup on Junction Pool.

    Like

Leave a Reply

